Skip to content

Published: June 23, 2021

UT’s Alpha Kappa Delta Chapter Wins 2020-2021 Chapter of the Year

UT’s Alpha Kappa Delta chapter (Theta) was named the 2020-2021 Chapter of the Year by Alpha Kappa Delta, the International Sociology Honor Society. The chapter won $500 to put toward chapter development and service activities.

Alpha Kappa Delta group photo
Members of UT’s Alpha Kappa Delta chapter, which recently won the 2020-2021 Chapter of the Year award, pose with sociology faculty, former Assistant Dean Leslie Jones, Dean Jack Geller, and 2019 initiation speaker and University of Tampa sociology alumna Mandi Barringer, Ph.D. Photo courtesy of Giuseppina Holway

The award was established to recognize and reward chapter achievement in fulfilling the general purposes of Alpha Kappa Delta: to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition.

The award would normally be presented at the annual American Sociological Association conference, but due to the pandemic, there will be no in-person ceremony this year.

“This award speaks to the excellence of our students and our chapter’s commitment to promoting sociology,” said Pina Holway, assistant professor of sociology and the faculty advisor and chapter representative.

Anthony Rickman, president of The Rickman Law Firm, will be on the hot seat for The University of Tampa’s Ethics Hot Seat speaker series on Nov. 30.
UT's chapter of Phi Kappa Phi—the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society—was recognized by Phi Kappa Phi as a Circle of Excellence Platinum Chapter.
UT is one of 394 college students recognized for its efforts to increase nonpartisan democratic engagement in the 2022 election.