Browser warning

Women’s Soccer Team Wins NCAA-II Championship

Published: December 03, 2007
The University of Tampa women’s soccer team won the NCAA-II national championship Saturday in a shootout victory over Franklin Pierce College.

The win marks the first time the women’s soccer team has claimed a national title in its 10-year history and is the 12th national championship win in the history of UT’s athletics program.

The 3 – 1 shootout followed 110 minutes of scoreless play that included two overtime periods. The Spartans held an 11 – 7 advantage in shots going into the shootout, as goalkeeper Shannon Aitken was perfect in the net.

The Spartans needed just four shots in the shootout session as Shelby Kuni, Megan Tobin and Ashley Flateland each made successful shots. Aitken stopped three of Franklin Pierce’s shots before allowing one through. Flateland then knocked in the game-winning penalty kick that clinched the victory for UT.

The win is the fourth national championship UT athletic teams have won in less than two years, marking an unparalleled streak of recent successes. Women’s soccer now joins baseball (2006, 2007) and volleyball (2006) as recent champions.