Browser warning

Jan Platt Awarded Tampa Bay Ethics Award(2)

Published: September 29, 2005

The 2005 Tampa Bay Ethics Award was presented to Jan Platt at the 15th annual Tampa Bay Ethics Award Breakfast on Sept. 23 in the Vaughn Center Crescent Club.

Since 1991, the UT Center for Ethics has recognized an individual whose personal, business and professional life reflects those classical ethical standards that contribute to all that is good in our society —- responsibility, respect, trustworthiness, caring, justice and citizenship. Previous honorees include Gov. Bob Martinez, H. Roy Kaplan, Ph.D., William Reece Smith, Dr. Sylvia D. Campbell, Goliath Davis III and Gus Stavros.

Platt is noted for her integrity during 24 years as a Hillsborough County commissioner. She also has served as chair of the county commission, chair of the Hillsborough County Environmental Protection Commission, member of the Tampa City Council, board member of the Florida Aquarium, board member of the Hillsborough County Expressway Authority, and board member of the Board of Criminal Justice. She is chair of the County Charter Review Board.

As a volunteer for community organizations, Platt has served the Suncoast Girl Scout Council, Hillsborough County Head Start Foundation, the Center for Ethics Advisory Board at The University of Tampa, and the League of Women Voters. She is included in Who’s Who in America, International Who’s Who of Professional and Business Women, and Outstanding People of the 21st Century.

In addition to the Tampa Bay Ethics Award, two recent awards for Platt have included the 2005 Distinguished Alumnus for the College of Social Sciences at Florida State University, and the 2005 Community Communicator of the year, presented by the Tampa Educational Cable Consortium.

For more information, please contact Jennifer Brucker, coordinator of centers and institutes in the John H. Sykes College of Business, at (813) 258-7415 or