Browser warning

UT President and Trustee Named to Business Hall of Fame

Published: February 02, 2010
Ronald L. Vaughn, president of The University of Tampa, and David A. Straz Jr., past chairman of the UT Board of Trustees, were recently named to the Tampa Bay Business Hall of Fame.

The other 2010 inductees were Oscar Horton, president of Sun State International Trucks LLC in Tampa; Dick Lobo, president and chief executive officer of WEDU-Channel 3; and Drs. Kiran and Pallavi Patel, founders of the Patel Foundation for Global Understanding. The inductees were selected from a group of 22 nominees, and they join 148 past members named annually since the inaugural year in 1988. Since that first year, 35 former or current members of the UT Board of Trustees have been named to the hall of fame.

The Florida Council on Economic Education created the Tampa Bay Business Hall of Fame to recognize business leaders who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to the Bay area community. The inductees will be honored at the Tampa Bay Business Hall of Fame event on March 25 at the A La Carte Pavilion in Tampa, with a reception beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Judging criteria for the nominees is based on business successes, community contributions and a reputation for solid business ethics and principles. To be considered, nominees must have lived and or worked in the six-county Tampa Bay region that includes Hillsborough, Pinellas, Sarasota, Manatee, Pasco and Polk counties, have made significant contributions to their industries, have displayed a sustained performance in their industry, be a business owner or top-level executive and participate in the Tampa Bay community.

Sponsoring the event this year are Raymond James, KPMG and the Tampa Bay Business Journal