Browser warning

University of Tampa Chosen To Host NCAA South Regional

Published: November 15, 2010
The NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Committee announced the field of 64 teams that will play for the 2010 NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Championship. The No. 2 University of Tampa Spartans have been selected as the number one seed and will host the South Regional Tournament beginning Thursday and commencing on Saturday.

Tampa (26-3) is set to make its 15th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 26th overall trip in 31 seasons. The Spartans are coming off its sixth consecutive Sunshine State Conference title to give the program 20 overall.

UT will play host to Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) champion Kentucky State University in Thursday's opening round in the 7:30 p.m. match. The winner of the South Regional will advance to the NCAA Elite Eight which will be held at a campus site to be determined.

Tickets may be purchased at the gate for $10 (adults) and $6 (students with ID/senior citizens). Children under the age of five shall be admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult.

UT will offer live stats and a webcast for each of the NCAA South Regional matches.

Click here for the complete release from

Thursday, Nov. 18, 2010 #3 Florida Southern vs. #6 Rollins - noon
#2 West Florida vs. #7 North Alabama - 2:30 p.m.
#4 Lynn vs. #5 Barry - 5 p.m.
#1 Tampa vs. #8 Kentucky State - 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 19, 2010
Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 - 5 pm
Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4 - 7:30 pm

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2010
Winner of Semifinal 1 vs. Winner of Semifinal 2 - 7 p.m.

Visit for the latest news and information on University of Tampa Athletics.