Browser warning

Piano Summer Camp

Piano Camp
The UT Piano Summer Camp, held June 24-30, is a comprehensive piano camp for students ages 12 to 18. The camp is sponsored by the Department of Music and led by assistant professors Grigorios Zamparas and Ryan Hebert, and guest pianists Duncan MacMillan and Leonidas Lipovetsky. Participants have the option of day or resident camp.

Day campers (8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.) are provided dinner on Sunday and lunch Monday through Saturday.Resident campers stay overnight in UT housing with all meals provided; they follow the day camp schedule noted below and continue with music concerts and other structured activities through the evening. To apply, download a registration form and send an audition tape or schedule a live audition on campus by emailing Registration due date is May 1, 2012.

2012 Camp Schedule

Sunday: 5-7 p.m. Registration and check- in to the dorms; dinner; Faculty Concert at 7:30 p.m.

Monday – Friday: Sample daily schedule
  • 8:30-9:30 a.m. Piano Literature and Music Theory Classes
  • 9:30-11:30 a.m. Lessons and practice time
  • 11:30 a.m.-12: 30 p.m. Master Class
  • 12:30-1:30 p.m. Lunch
  • 2-3 p.m. Choir
  • 3-5 p.m. Lessons and practice time
  • 6-7 p.m. Dinner break
  • 7:30 p.m. Concerts and recreational events

Saturday: Grand Finale Student Recitals: 9:30 and 11 a.m.
Performances: There will be three piano recitals featuring the camp's faculty members on Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings at 7:30 p.m.

About the Piano Summer Camp Faculty

Leonidas Lipovetsky has been critically acclaimed for his artistry and flawless technique since his recital debut at age 12 in his native city of Montevideo, Uruguay. He has performed in a large number of the great concert halls of the world where he has played in recital and as soloist with leading symphony orchestras in the United States, Canada, Latin America, Europe, Russia and the People's Republic of China. He began his musical studies at the age of 4 in Montevideo and received his diploma in piano performance as a student of Wilhelm Kolischer. As the first recipient of the Van Cliburn Scholarship he continued his studies under the direction of Rosina Lhevinne at the Juilliard School of Music in New York, where he also was granted the Pan American Union Fellowship and was the winner of the Concerto Competition. There, he earned his bachelor's and master's in piano performance. In addition, he studied architecture at the School of Architecture of the State University of Uruguay in Montevideo. He was a member of the Artist Faculty of the School of Music at Florida State University where he taught piano for 35 years and from which he retired in 2004.

Duncan MacMillan has appeared on civic, collegiate and summer festival series as piano soloist, chamber musician, harpsichordist and in premieres of new works written/commissioned especially for him. His own compositions have been recorded, performed internationally and featured on NPR. He lectures at Eckerd College in Music and Ancient Greek Studies, has taught piano privately since 1977, is a founding member/conductor/composer of Herald Vocal Arts Ensemble in St. Petersburg and is a member of MTNA. He previously taught at colleges and universities in Alabama, Florida, Mississippi and Oklahoma. MacMillan holds bachelor's degrees magna cum laude in psychology and music performance, a Certificate in Performance and Pedagogy, and master's degrees in piano and music theory from Florida State University. He received his doctorate in piano performance and literature from the University of Oklahoma after doctoral scholarship studies at Oxford University.

Grigorios Zamparas has received critical acclaim for his versatile performing career as recitalist, orchestra soloist and chamber musician in Greece, Bulgaria, former Yugoslavia, Russia, Latin America, South Korea and the U.S.He is a frequent guest at numerous festivals worldwide, having performed several times at the prestigious Newport Music Festival. Zamparas is assistant professor of music at The University of Tampa where he oversees the piano program. He is also the pianist with the Quartet de Minaret, a piano quartet in residence at the University.He began studying music at the age of 7 in Greece, where he received his first piano degree in 1995, studying with the distinguished Greek pedagogue Yorgos Manessis. He holds a doctorate degree from the University of Miami where he studied with pianist Ivan Davis. Zamparas also holds a master's degree from Indiana University, a bachelor's from University of Indianapolis and a musicology degree from Aristotle University of Thessalonica, Greece. His recordings have been released by Centaur Records.

A native of Louisiana, Ryan Hebert, DMA, is the newly appointed assistant professor of music, director of choral activities and University organist at The University of Tampa. Choirs under Hebert's direction have performed all over the United States and abroad, including invited performances for the American Choral Directors Association State Convention in South Carolina and at the National Cathedral in Washington, DC. As an active choral clinician, Hebert has been invited to adjudicate for numerous choral festivals as well as to conduct various honor choirs throughout the region. In 2009, he presented an interest session at the Southern Division ACDA conference in Memphis, TN.He is also a published author, including an article on Ruth Watson Henderson's Voices of Earth in the December 2007 issue of the Choral Journal, the national publication of ACDA. Hebert is also an active composer. For the Jefferson Choral Society's Composition Competition in Lynchburg, VA, his choral setting of E.E. Cummings "i carry your heart with me" was selected for first prize.The piece was premiered in February 2011.Hebert's former teaching positions were at the South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities, the state's only public boarding school for artistically gifted high school students, and at Longwood University in Virginia. In 2010, he was the recipient of Longwood University's "Faculty Recognition Award." The award honors a member of the faculty for professional excellence and devoted service to students.