Browser warning

Academic Credit for Internships

Students who wish to earn academic credit for their internship must first verify that their internship is pre-approved for credit within their major. Please schedule an appointment with the assistant director of internships to see if your internship is approved for credit. If your internship is not pre-approved for credit, you will be provided with next steps to try and get the internship approved.

Each major has specific guidelines and requirements that must be met in order to obtain academic credit for an internship experience. Consult with career services and your faculty internship coordinator to confirm prerequisites.

Accounting

View accounting opportunities...
Class: ACC 490
GPA Required: 2.25 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded up to 8 credits
Status: Junior
Credits: 56 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-8 credits available)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: (4) 300 level ACC courses with GPA 3.0
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Mareen Butler
JS-309
x6301
mbutler@ut.edu

Please contact Teresa Pergola while Maureen Butler is on sabbatical: Teresa Pergola
JS-243
x3298
tpergola@ut.edu

FMA and New Media Production

View FMA and NMP opportunities...
Class: COM 354
GPA Required: 3.0 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded
Status: Junior
Credits: 15-20 hrs/wk = 4 credit hours (8 credits available - 4 per semester)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Gregg Perkins
CA-130
x3427
gperkins@ut.edu

Allied Health

View allied health opportunities...
Class: HSC 480
GPA Required: 2.75 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour (2-12 credits available)
Pre-Requisites: HSC 200, 230, 234, 231, 235, ESC 340
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Ronda Sturgill
HSHP-220
x3445
rsturgill@ut.edu

Art

View art opportunities...
Class: ART 412
Status: Junior
Credits: TBA working hours = 1 credit hour (1-4 credits available)
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Doug Sutherland
CA-106
x3905
dsutherland@ut.edu

Art Therapy

View art therapy opportunities...
Class: ART 412
Status: Junior
Credits: 20 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-4 credits available)
Pre-Requisites: 3/4 of hours must be direct contact; 1/2 involve art
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Joe Scarce
jscarce@ut.edu

Athletic Training

View athletic training opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
J.C. Andersen
HSHP-221
x3162
jcandersen@ut.edu

Biology: Marine Science/Environmental Science

View biology opportunities...
Class: BIO 490
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Junior
Credits: TBA working hours = 1 credit hour (1-8 credits available)
Pre-Requisites: BIO 203 BIO 204
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinators:

Marine, Environmental, Biology:
Lori McRae
SC-214
x3942
lmcrae@ut.edu

Med, Molecular, Health Science:
Ann Williams
SC-255
x3994
ahwilliams@ut.edu

Chemistry/Biochemistry

View chemistry and biochemistry opportunities...
Class: CHE 453
GPA Required: 2.5 overall
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-4 credits available)
Pre-Requisites: CHE 234, 235L, 310, 320
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Eric Ballard
SA-103
x3806
eballard@ut.edu

College of Business (Except Accounting)

View College of Business opportunities...
Class: COB 490
GPA Required: 2.5 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded up to 8 credits
Status: Junior
Credits: 56 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-8 credits available)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: See COB 490 handout for pre-req courses. Attend internship prep workshop or webinar.
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Dean Koutroumanis
ICB-803
x3619
dkoutroumanis@ut.edu

Note: For Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, International Business, Management, MIS, and Marketing Majors.

Communication and Advertising/Public Relations

View communication and advertising/public relations opportunities...
Class: COM 354
GPA Required: 3.0 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded
Status: Junior
Credits: 15-20 hrs/wk = 4 credit hours (8 credits available - 4 per semester)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Christopher Boulton
CA-102
x3425
cboulton@ut.edu

Criminology: Criminal Justice

View criminology opportunities...
Class: CRM 401
GPA Required: 2.8 overall, 3.2 for fed.
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded and Pass/Fail
Status: Junior
Credits: 37.5 working hours = 1 credit hour (4-16 credits available)
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinators:
Victims services, juvenile, law, all others not federal or law enforcement:
Carly Hilinski-Rosick
PH-349
x3563
chilinskirosick@ut.edu

Law Enforcement and Federal Agencies:
Sorle Diih
PH-311A
x3220
sdiih@ut.edu

Curriculum/Instruction

View curriculum/instruction opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Jon McKeown
PH-422
x6306
jmckeown@ut.edu

Dance

View dance opportunities...
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Senior
Credits: 40 working hrs. = 1 credit hr. (0-4 hours credit)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring
Pre-Requisites: DAN 380 and senior status
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Susan Taylor Lennon
BAS-101
x3745
staylor.lennon@ut.edu

Education

View education opportunities...
Class: Prac. I, II, and III
GPA Required: 2.5 overall, 3.0 in major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded
Status: Junior
Credits: Prac. I- 1, Prac. II-2, Prac. III- 4
Terms Offered: Fall and Spring
Pre-Requisites: Admission to Teacher Education program
Internship Required? Yes

Class: Prac. IV
GPA Required: 2.5 overall, 3.0 in major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Senior
Credits: Prac. I- 1, Prac. II-2, Prac. III- 4
Terms Offered: Fall and Spring
Pre-Requisites: Admission to Teacher Education program
Internship Required? Yes

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Merrie Tankersley
PH-537A
x3799
mtankersley@ut.edu

English, Writing and Journalism

View English, writing and journalism opportunities...
Class: ENG 490, WRI 490
GPA Required: 3.0 overall
Status: Junior
Credits: 50 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-10 credits available, only 4 count toward major)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Jeffrey Neely
PH-507
x3178
jneely@ut.edu

Forensic Science

View forensic science opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Kenyon Evans-Nguyen
CA-111
x1702
kevansnguyen@ut.edu

Graphic Design

View graphic design opportunities...
Class: ART 411
GPA Required: 3.0 overall
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Junior
Credits: 3 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-3 credits available)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: ART/COM 210, 305, 309, 318
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Brooke Scherer
CA-108
x6317
bscherer@ut.edu

History

View history opportunities...
Class: HIS 401
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Credits: 35 working hours = 1 credit hour (4 credits available - Course counts for major)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Charles McGraw Groh
PH-347
x5017
cmcgraw@ut.edu

Human Performance

View human performance opportunities...
Class: ESC 480
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour (2-12 credits available)
Pre-Requisites: Need to apply with department
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Eric Vlahov
HSHP-221
x3162
evlahov@ut.edu

International Studies

View international studies opportunities...
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 hours = 1 academic credit
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: PSC 201
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Mary Anderson
KBB-110
x1804
mranderson@ut.edu

Math

View math opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Angela Angeleska
SC-247
x3332
aangeleska@ut.edu

Music Education

View music education opportunities...
GPA Required: 2.5 Overall, 3.0 Major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Senior
Credits: 6 credits
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring
Pre-Requisites: Music Education Majors with Senior Standing and Permission of Instructor
Internship Required? Yes

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Hubert Toney, Jr.
MD-98
x3527
htoney@ut.edu

Nursing - Undergrad and ICS

View nursing opportunities...
Class: PSC 440
Credits: 4-16 credits available (But changing to 2-8)
Internship Required? Yes

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Cindy Parsons
PH-409
x1804
cindy.parsons@ut.edu

Physical Education

View physical education opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Leslie Williams
HSHP-221
x3162
lmwilliams@ut.edu

Political Science

View political science opportunities...
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Pass/Fail or Graded: Graded
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: PSC 100, 200 or 201
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Mary Anderson
KBB-110
x1804
mranderson@ut.edu

Psychology - Clinical

View clinical psychology opportunities...
Class: PSY 405
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Status: Varies
Credits: 4 credit hours
Terms Offered: Fall
Pre-Requisites: PSY 200, 201, 303/ senior status
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Michael J. Stasio
PH-351
x3074
mstasio@ut.edu

Psychology - Developmental

View developmental psychology opportunities...
Class: PSY 408
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Status: Varies
Credits: 4 credit hours
Terms Offered: Spring
Pre-Requisites: PSY 200, 210, 211/ junior or senior status
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Jeffrey S. Skowronek
PH-230
x3249
jskowronek@ut.edu

Psychology - Industrial Organization

View industrial organization psychology opportunities...
Class: PSY 406
GPA Required: 3.0 in major
Status: Varies
Credits: 1-4 credit hours
Pre-Requisites: PSY 200, 202, 211
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Kimberly M. Cummings
SC-253
x3651
kcummings@ut.edu

Public Health

View public health opportunities...
Class: HSC 490
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour (2-12 credits available)
Internship Required? Yes

Faculty Internship Coordinators:
Rebecca Olsen
HSHP-226
x3749
rolsen@ut.edu

Mary Martinasek
HSHP-228
x5037
mmartinasek@ut.edu

Nadine Mescia
HSHP-227
x5076
nmescia@ut.edu

Sociology

View sociology opportunities...
Class: SOC 305
GPA Required: 2.25
Pass/Fail or Graded: Pass/Fail
Status: Junior
Credits: 40 working hours = 1 credit hour (1-4 credits available)
Terms Offered: Fall, Spring, Summer
Pre-Requisites: 9 hrs of SOC with "C" or better
Internship Required? Yes for Applied

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Bruce Friesen
SC-241
x3464
bfriesen@ut.edu

Sport Management

View sport management opportunities...
Class: SPM 495
Status: Senior
Credits: TBA working hours = 1 credit hour (1-12 credits available)
Internship Required? Yes

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Ross Bartow
HC-225
x3497
rbartow@ut.edu

Theater

View theater opportunities...
Status: Junior
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Robert Gonzalez
FALK-104
x3854
rmgonzalez@ut.edu

Washington Center Internship and Related Programs

View Washington Center internship and related program opportunities...
Internship Required? No

Faculty Internship Coordinator:
Gary Luter
PH-344
x7283
gluter@ut.edu

Please Contact Ryan Cragun while Gary Luter is on sabbatical.
Ryan Cragun
PH-309
x3803
rcragun@ut.edu