Browser warning

UT President Receives Alumni Distinction Award from UGA

Published: September 10, 2013
University of Tampa President Ronald L Vaughn has been selected as a recipient of the 2013 University of Georgia (UGA) Graduate School Alumni of Distinction Award. This award has been established to recognize outstanding graduate alumni who have made significant contributions to their professional field and communities.

Vaughn, who received his doctorate in marketing from UGA in 1975, is one of 18 recipients selected for the first class of honorees.

According to Maureen Grasso, dean of the UGA graduate school, Vaughn and the 17 other recipients “reflect the best that UGA’s graduate alumni have contributed to our society.”

Vaughn has served as president of The University of Tampa since January 1995. During his tenure, University enrollments have more than tripled, new enrollment records have been set in each of the last 17 years and academic programs have been expanded to more than 150 areas of study.

Vaughn came to The University of Tampa in August 1984 as the coordinator of the marketing department and holder of the Max H. Hollingsworth Endowed Chair of American Enterprise. He also served as director of the MBA program, dean of the College of Business and Graduate Studies and co-chief academic officer.

In addition to his doctorate, Vaughn holds a bachelor’s degree in marketing and an MBA from Indiana State University. He began his academic career at Bradley University as a faculty member and chairman of the marketing department. Vaughn also owned his own multi-office marketing research/consulting company where he worked on several hundred projects for a broad clientele.