Jane Ellen Glasser Wins 2005 Tampa Review Prize for Poetry

Jane Ellen Glasser
Jane Ellen Glasser
(Photo by Jill Snapp)
Jane Ellen Glasser of Norfolk, Virginia, has won the 2005 Tampa Review Prize for Poetry. She will receive a $1,000 cash award plus hardcover and quality paperback book publication by the University of Tampa Press for her winning manuscript, entitled "Light Persists."

A selection of poems from the forthcoming book will appear as a “sneak preview” in one of the next issues of Tampa Review.

Glasser’s poetry has appeared in numerous journals, including The Hudson Review, The Southern Review, The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Georgia Review, Poetry Northwest, and Connecticut Poetry Review. Her first collection of poetry, Naming the Darkness, with an introduction by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet W. D. Snodgrass, was issued by Road Publishers in 1991.

Judges of the Tampa Review Prize for Poetry identified twelve finalists, including Glasser, in the 2005 competition.
Other finalists are:

Christopher Bursk of Langhorne Manor, Pa., for “The First Inhabitants of Arcadia”;
David Floyd of Lansdowne, Pa., for “The Sudden Architecture of the Dark”;
Kirk Glaser of Santa Cruz, Ca., for “A Leaf of Ash”;
Edward Haworth Hoeppner of Rockford, Mich., for “Blue Ancestral”;
David Lloyd of Manlius, N.Y., for “The Gospel According to Frank”;
Richard Lyons of Mississippi State, Miss., for “Fleur Carnivore”;
Jim Peterson of Lynchburg, Va., for “The Horse Who Bears Me Away”;
Richard Robbins of Mankato, Minn., for “Other Americas”;
Barry Silesky of Chicago, Ill., for “This Disease”;
Helen Wallace of St. Petersburg, Fla., for “Shimming the Glass House”; and
Laurelyn Whitt of Spanish Fork, Utah, for “interstices.”

The Tampa Review Prize for Poetry is given annually for a previously unpublished booklength manuscript. Winners receive $1,000, hardcover and quality paperback book publication by the University of Tampa Press, and royalties on sales of their books.