Browser warning

Management Professor Wins UT's Highest Honor

Published: April 30, 2008
Dr. Mary Anne Watson, professor of management at The University of Tampa, was awarded the Louise Loy Hunter Award at UT’s Academic Awards Ceremony on April 23.

The Louise Loy Hunter Award is bestowed annually upon a UT faculty member for cumulative contributions in teaching, service and scholarship. It is the highest official honor that can be awarded to a faculty member at The University of Tampa. The award is unique in that it is bestowed by faculty members who have received the award in prior years.

Watson, who served as associate dean of the John H. Sykes College of Business for the last five and a half years and chair of the management department for three and a half years, focuses on organizational behavior, and specializes in leadership development and team building. She has published more than 40 cases and articles and has made numerous presentations. She co-authored the book “Learning Theory in the Practice of Management Development” (Greenwood, 1998).

Additionally, Watson has led efforts to internationalize the curriculum and faculty at the Sykes College of Business. She wrote and directed two internationalization grants from the U.S. Department of Education that led to the introduction of the international business major.

She also has developed and conducted cross-cultural training programs for international student exchange and language organizations such as the American Language Academy and Youth for Understanding.

Watson directs the MBA Leadership Coaching Program, which brings to campus more than 120 area business leaders who voluntarily mentor first-year MBA students. She is also a member of The University of Tampa Coalition for an Alcohol Responsible Environment (CARE).