Browser warning

UT Professor Awarded Fulbright Scholarship

Published: April 26, 2004

Anthony P. LaRose, assistant professor of criminology at The University of Tampa, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture and conduct research at the National Autonomous University of Mexico-Mexico City during the 2004-05 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. He is the sixth UT faculty member to receive a Fulbright.


LaRose, a 1988 graduate of the University of Massachusetts-Amherst, earned his MA in 1992 and Ph.D. in 1997, both at Washington State University. He taught at the Roger Williams University School of Justice Studies and Fitchburg State College before coming to UT. His research background includes police value systems, ethics in the criminal justice system, and comparative studies of American and Mexican legal systems. He is a member of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences and the Alpha Phi Sigma National Criminal Justice Honor Society.


As a Fulbright Scholar, LaRose will lecture and conduct research on community-based policing—a policy of proactive community involvement versus reacting only when crime occurs— in the U.S. and in Mexico as one of about 800 Americans who will travel abroad to some 140 countries next academic year. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program’s purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.


The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. During the 57 years of the program’s existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the U.S. They are among more than 250,000 American and foreign university students, K-12 teachers, and college faculty and professionals who have participated in one of the Fulbright exchange programs.


Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among the thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corporation.


Previous UT Fulbright recipients include Dr. Richard Piper, Honors program director and Dana professor of government and world affairs; Dr. Kathryn VanSpanckeren, Dr. Mary Jane Schenck, and Dr. Donald Morrill, professors of English; and Dr. William Leith, professor of languages.


For more information, contact the Office of Public Information at