Browser warning

Sykes, Greco, Iorio Highlight New Board

Published: November 17, 2003

John H. Sykes, whose name graces the University’s college of business and its multimillion-dollar high-tech building, presided in September over his first meeting as chairman of the UT Board of Trustees.


Although it is the Sykes College of Business for which his name is most recognizable on campus, the Vaughn Center also is a direct result of John and Susan Sykes’s generosity. They have given a total of $38 million to the University.


This is John Sykes’s first tenure as chair. He has been a member of the Board since 1996.


Greco Named Trustee Emeritus


Dick Greco ’56, two-time former mayor of Tampa and a former vice president of Edward J. DeBartolo Corp., has been named Trustee Emeritus.


Greco graduated from UT with a Bachelor of Science in Social Studies degree. The former mayor has received numerous University honors over the years, including the Award for Distinguished Public Service in 1972, the University of Tampa Medal in 1978, and the University’s highest bestowed honor, an Honorary Doctor of Public Service degree, in 2003.


Seven New Members


The Board also welcomes seven new members to three-year  terms beginning this year:


Gordon W. Campbell is vice chairman of Mercantile Bank, director of the South Financial Group, chairman of Argyll Associates Inc., vice chairman of Templeton Annuity Co., director of Fiduciary Trust of the South, and director of Opus South Corp. He is a graduate of the University of Iowa, and did post-graduate work at Bradley University and the Stonier School of Banking at Rutgers University.


Thomas P. Cornett is senior vice president of Bank of America. He holds an undergraduate degree in commercial banking and a master’s degree in business administration from Duke University.


Lea Lavoie Davis is owner/operator of Pro Ad Public Relations and Advertising, executive director of the Greater Lake Placid Chamber of Commerce, and director of development for the Association for Retarded Citizens—Ridge Area. She also is a political election campaign consultant. She is a graduate of UT, and is pursuing a master’s degree in applied anthropology at the University of South Florida.


Jeffrey T. Dunn serves SunTrust Bank as executive vice president and head of private client services for the Tampa Region, which includes Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, Citrus and Sumter counties. He is a graduate of La Salle University, and earned an MBA in finance at Niagara University. He also is a member of the United Way Leadership Circle.


John McKibbon is CEO of the McKibbon Hotel Group. He holds a degree in hotel management and real estate development from Florida International University. In addition to UT, his philanthropic affiliations include trusteeships with Northeast Georgia Health Services, Tampa General Hospital Foundation, and the Tampa Museum of Art.


Robert Rothman is CEO of the Black Diamond Companies and a former chairman of the board and CEO of Consolidated International Group Inc., which he helped to found. He is an MBA graduate of the University of Chicago, where he is a member of the advisory council for the graduate school of business. His undergraduate degree is a BA in economics from Queens College of the City University of New York.


David C. Ruberg is a general partner of Baker Capital, a private equity fund specializing in the communications and media sectors. He is a former president, CEO and chairman of Intermedia Communications, as well as a former chairman of DIGEX, a Web-hosting company. He earned a BA in mathematics at Middlebury College, and an MS in computer and communications sciences the University of Michigan.


Former Board Members Return


Three former board members whose previous terms expired in 2002 are returned to their posts:


Stephen F. Dickey, MD, is president and CEO of the Doctor’s Walk-in Clinics. He is a member of the UT Board of Fellows, and has been a long-time supporter of the University.


Syd N. Heaton is retired chairman and chief executive officer of Advantis, a worldwide networking technology company formed by IBM and Sears, Roebuck and Co.


Eugene H. McNichols is president of the McNichols Company, a worldwide distributor of building materials. Its products include perforated metals and plastics, fiberglass flooring, handrail components, ladder rungs and traction tread. The company was founded by his father, Robert McNichols, in 1952.


Iorio Among New Ex-Officio Members


Finally, four new ex-officio members were appointed to one-year terms:


C. Michael Halfast, CPA, is chair of the Board of Counselors. He is an independent insurance agent and insurance consultant, and is president of Risk Avoidance Managers Inc. He is a professional liability specialist, concentrating on policies for attorneys, financial planners and accountants. He is a UT grad with a double major in accounting and management information systems.


Pam Iorio is mayor of the city of Tampa. She attended Hillsborough County public schools, and graduated from the American University in Washington, DC, with a BS in political science. She later earned a master’s degree in history at the University of South Florida. She has published several articles on Tampa’s civil rights and political histories.


Anne Thompson is president of the Chiselers Inc., the nonprofit women’s organization dedicated to the preservation of the University’s historic H.B. Plant Hall. She is a graduate of Agnes Scott College. Her other community affiliations include the Junior League of Tampa, Friends of the Library, and the Beach Park Women’s Club.


Renee A. Williams represents the University’s Board of Fellows. She is president of the Williams Consulting Group Inc. She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma with a BA in Urban Studies and a master’s degree in regional and city planning. She is on the Leadership Development and Cultural Affairs committees of the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce.

For more information, contact the Office of Public Information at